Arrested or Summoned by the Police and Charged With Being an Unlicensed Driver
Driving a car or other vehicle is almost irresistible to a young person. It’s the beginning of wanting to be a grown up. Often, it’s impulsive, especially when you are under the age of 16. Most of us did it, either in our neighborhood or on a secluded road with your dad or some friends letting us sit on their laps while allowing the child to learn the steering wheel.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle law requires you to be licensed. In fact, the statute explicitly states, “no person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public highway in this State unless licensed to do so in accordance with this article.” If your child drives a car underage and gets caught, they are in serious trouble, especially if no parent is present.
If your child is found to be in violation of this law, the consequences are significant. A fine not to exceed $500, imprisonment in the county jail for up to 60 days, and if unlicensed to drive in New Jersey or any other state, the court will issue an order to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles requiring that the convicted minor not be issued a driver’s license to operate a motor vehicle for a period of not less than 180 days after he or she is otherwise eligible to drive.
What if your child just forgot to bring his or her license with them while driving? Simple, he or she can exhibit their driver’s license, insurance identification card and registration certificate, as of the day they were charged. The judge may dismiss the charge but impose court costs.
A request by a Judge to demand your driver’s license is subject to challenge under constitutional self-incrimination standards. If you are charged with being an unlicensed driver, contact Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. an experienced New Jersey Unlicensed driver lawyer toll free at (855) 376-5291 or e-mail him at firstname.lastname@example.org today. Protect your rights and your pocketbook.
Written by Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. of Hanlon Niemann & Wright, a New Jersey Traffic Violations Attorney