Domestic Violence Law
A tragedy for everyone involved.
Get help today.
Find help here.
You never thought something like this would happen to you, charged with domestic violence or being a victim of domestic violence. It’s embarrassing, frightening and a world apart from your life’s experience.
You’ve heard or read that people convicted of domestic violence face big time criminal consequences, fines, jail, probation… and a record. Guess what, it’s true! So, what should you do? Well for starters read this website and learn all you can. Then when you’re done and feel compelled to take action to protect yourself, call us. We’re here for you! Today.
Background to the Problem of New Jersey Domestic Violence
According to national statistics, approximately 1.3 million women and 835,000 men are physically assaulted by an intimate partner or family member annually in the United States. In New Jersey, 78.5 percent of victims filing domestic violence complaints are women, which means that 21.5 percent of the victims that make a violence claim are men. The most frequent day of domestic violence is Sunday. If viewed strictly as a statistic, one act of domestic violence occurs every 7 minutes and 19 seconds of each day.
In New Jersey, domestic violence is classified as a crime. It’s treated very seriously. The state also has adopted civil remedies to protect victims who are in a domestic relationship with their aggressors. The domestic violence laws in New Jersey acknowledge that often special circumstances are involved in each and every household including a victim’s love for the aggressor, economic dependency on the aggressor, the victim’s belief that he or she can help or change the abusive behavior, the dynamics of having children together, and the victim’s isolation from family and other support systems. The New Jersey Legislature adopted the New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act in 1982. The Act applies to dating situations, relationships where the parties have a child or pregnancy in common, and to same-gender relationships. The Act provides access to a broad range of judicial remedies including “stay-away” orders, seizure of weapons, orders for drug and alcohol testing and counseling, child risk assessments, financial support and other economic relief, custody and visitation orders, property rights, attorney’s fees, and punitive damages.
New Jersey is one of a handful of states that has a “forever” aspect to final restraining orders. In most other states, restraining orders extend for a designated period of time such as one year or 18 months. Not, New Jersey. In New Jersey, forever means just that forever, unless modified by the court by a superseding court order.
Fred is an amazing and dynamic person. I have attended a few of his work shops and CEU events over the years and his interactive discussions have been both educational and entertaining. He is one of the few lawyers out there that I do trust and does whatever he says he is going to (Accountability) who ever I have referred his way has always thanked me for connecting them and this is why I continue to work w/ Fred. Great person, excellent ethics, and very knowledgeable. I highly recommend him.
—Steve Weiss, Regional Director of Professional Relations, Senior Bridge
In the following pages of our website we give you a lot of information to read in an effort to help you learn more about domestic violence in New Jersey. Need help or advice in your personal matter? If so, please contact Hanlon Niemann & Wright, a NJ Domestic Violence law firm and ask for Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq., toll-free at (855) 376-5291 or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org. He would be happy to meet with you to discuss your domestic violence matter. Please call today. He looks forward to speaking with you.
NJ Domestic Violence Lawyer serving these New Jersey Counties:
Monmouth County, Ocean County, Essex County, Cape May County, Camden County, Mercer County, Middlesex County,
Bergen County, Morris County, Burlington County, Union County, Somerset County, Hudson County, Passaic County